• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

engine size

PmDavis300

im new to snowmobileing and looking to buy my first sled. is a 440cc engine to small? im 25 years old, weigh a little less then 200 if that matters. ill probably be mostly zooming around the lake and maybe doing some ditch riding...

sled is a 1990 jag 440

a young buck like might be disappointed after you have that a bit

i'm 56 soon to be 57 and ride a 600 mxz

specially 1990 sleds have come along way since then

unless thats what in your budget

i would think if look and are patient you can find some pretty good deals

Here's my advice: If your new to snowmobiling, there is a lot of free information out there, just do web searches for the particular sleds you are interested in. If you think you might eventually go riding every now and again with a group of guys, a 440 might be too small. I bought my first sled, after 14 years of no sledding, last year. I did a ton of research and was very happy with my purchase. I scanned c list daily, seeing what was available and at what price. Keep in mind, the pictures on the web can hide a lot of blemishes. There are a lot of decent buys out there right now. You can go on Dootalk (Ski doo), and other sites like that to get specifics on various year and models of sleds. Even if you're only gonna spend 500 bucks, if you do you homework and shop around, you'll get a good feel for what your particular sled should be priced at. I highly doubt you will regret your decision to get into sledding, it is a fun sport. Good luck.

if you have a low price range i would recommend a polaris indy 500 very reliable easy to find parts and can get going to a very good speed on the lake and have pretty good trail manners