• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Nikon Question

I'm in the market for a better camera for taking vacation pics and family stuff, more or less a good camera. Not wanting to spend a fortune on a SLR. What the opinions on the L100 for a basic general use camera? I'm no pro and never will be just want something I can take a good pic at 500 feet away. Missed out on to many good pics while on Vermilion that my cheapie couldnt get the pic.

I've been A Nikon guy for well over 40 years but when it comes to point and shot cameras I would never buy anything but a but a Canon! That is real hard for me to say.

Pooie. I'd put a Panasonic P & S up against a Canon any day. The Panny Lumix series sports the highly reputable Leica lens. It's tough to beat for quality. I got many good shots with mine before I joined the DSLR world. What sold me on the Panasonic, besides the lens, was the shutter lag was much less than on the Canon equivalent.

Both fine brands, however. I also wouldn't rule out Olympus or Fuji. Nowadays, they can all do great jobs in the right hands.

I would start out by making a list of what you really want out of the camera. We did that and it helped us quite a bit. We wanted a longer zoom, a viewfinder(I hate the LCD screen during the day), higher mega pixel, we also wanted to be able to have a few picture taking options on the camera.

There are many, many cameras that take good pictures out there, but not all fit what I wanted in a camera, no one camera that fits all needs/wants. Figure out what you want before you start shopping it will make the process a bit easier.

Quote:
just want something I can take a good pic at 500 feet away

That part is going to be tough with any P&S but the greater amount of optical zoom the better your chances of making out what it actually is and not just a black dot in the distance.