• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Eye dominance

rharm

I'm sure its been asked before, but just wondering how many people are not shooting to match their eye dominance?(Ex. left eye dominant, shooting righty) I'm left eye but have been shooting a bow righty for 5-6 years. Have people switched to match their eye dominance? If so, how long had you been shooting before switching? Did it improve your accuracy?

A good friend switched after many years (20?). It took him a few months to be competent and a couple years to feel real comfortable with it, but is now a better shooter than ever.

I'm left handed, right eye dominant. I shot bow for 4-5 years when I was a kid left handed. Did pretty well in archery leagues that way. I switched to right when I started shooting again a couple years ago, this is after not shooting at all for a little over 10 years. The time gap was pretty long, but I would say I'm more relaxed shooting with my dominant eye. I don't have to over think the sighting and keep telling myself to close my dominant eye.

I've always shot guns right handed, not sure why I was started on a lefty bow?

I am right handed and left eye dominant. I bought a rh bow in high school(1995) and couldnt hit the broad side of a barn with it. I didnt shoot for a long time and now getting back into it. I bought a lh bow this spring and it was akward at first drawing the bow, but i shoot ten times better lh vs. rh!

Yes I would say switching would improve your shooting.

My fiance started bowhunting last year. She is left eye dominant and is right handed. We bought her a left hand Diamond Edge and she shoots it very well.