• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Am I missing something here.....?

Aquaman01

Hi - ice newbie here. Not much of a catcher, it seems.

Been out three times so far in the last month - all during mid-day, on small lakes near Buffalo with summer sunfish populations. I've tried depths of 5' to 35' in weeds and over silt in various heights in the column.

Presentations have included deadsticking crappie minnows on #6 octopus hook below a split-shot, crappie minnow on wee teardrop or 1/4 oz. ball jig. Waxworms on above, also. I'm usually too busy tending to my son to sit-n-jig, or frequently re-tie a variety of presentations.

We've also set tip-ups with 4"-8" suckers on QSR's to no avail.

One small northern was caught deadsticking a small jigging spoon with a big fat-head in 10' of water over a 15' weedy slope.

I have a used 7" mora hand auger, no electronics, no shelter. I guestimate my depth with a clip-on and by counting reeling revolutions. I guess bottom content by jigging around a bit - if I snag weeds...It's weedy. My arms are good for about 16 holes in 6" ice, 12 holes in 8" ice and 10 holes in 10" ice.

I've put in 15 hours over 38 holes on 3 seperate bodies of water for 1 fish.

Anybody got any pointers for me?

Waiting for Spring wink.gif ,
Rob

I would invest in a power auger. I dont fish more than 10 mins in one hole and just keep on going. If you know you are on a lake that produces quality fish you will find them. Many times by noon I will already have augered 38 holes.