• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

6" Power Auger question

poorbiker

If your not a tip up guy going after big northerns and jig for smaller fare like panfish and the occasional walleye a 6 shooter is the ticket. I have a Strikemaster lazer 6" power and I use a 5" hand lazer for early ice and the 5" I use probably 90% of the ice fishing season. Beware I have had big crappies get stuck sideways in a 5" hole when I'm fortunate to get the occasional hog.

Well Biker you could maybe buy that 6 incher if its a good runner thats a great price. Then you could look around and find yourself another bit in a larger size.

I think the main reason a big hole is best is it is alot easier to get the fish turned and up into the bigger holes when you're bringing it in. Big holes are nicer for hanging your transducer in as well.

Depends what one considers big, but I've caught fish that would never make it up a 6 inch hole.

fiskyknut

[This message has been edited by fiskyknut (edited 11-14-2003).]