• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Hand Auger Noise?

Since I am a novice at catching 'eyes through the ice...

Does anyone know if hand auger noise will scare away walleyes? Suppose it is 7 AM, you hit the lake, mark fish at 10-20 feet deep through the ice, and make your holes...are the fish as good as gone?

I try to be as quiet as pssible when I am on the ice, just wondering what the pros have to say about this...

Thanks,
ak

Believe it or not, a hand auger makes more noise then a power auger.
Been ice fishin ""hardcore" for darn near 30 years and I've found drillin a few holes actually attracks fish. Thats not to say start making swiss cheese at prime time.
Besides if you dont drill a hole how ya gonna fish?

I'm with surface tension....You have to fish, yoru not going to be able to lick yourself threw the ice, drill a few holes and deal with whatever noise you make.. I too have found that drillinga hole can sometimes attract fish.. but that was a SOMETIMES deal... I do think that an ice chisel makes the most noise. You can hear that rumble threw the ice hundreads of miles away!.. well.. maybe not that far!

I think of it like this: You don't walk out to your deerstand expecting a deer to be standing 20 yards away do you? And if there was a deer there you're not gonna set up a different stand just because you don't wanna scare him away, right? Get there early and get ready! They can hear it, and it may or may not scare them. Just drill several holes and hope they don't run too far.

Another possibility that comes to mind is switching time of day you will target walleyes.
Try fishing the afternoon evening bite.

Ofcourse, fishng pressure, sleds and ATV traffic during the day will effect things.

Get to your honey hole an hour or so before "meal time" pop strategically, a series of holes and wait for them to move in.