• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

buying first power auger

bigwillie

I geuss It would depend on how man holes ur going to be drilling, and how much ur willing to pay..I myself own a jiffy and untill last year had no porblems for about 5 years...for lots of holes and speed i wold go with the strikemasters but im sure some people bag to differ, eskimos little bit cheaper less quailty, all aroudn good price and fair quality go with the jiffys just my 2 cents

I have a 3hp strikemaster 8", the thing runs and cuts great, though I wish I had bought a 2hp just because the 3 isn’t needed and the two is less weight. I was thinking bigger is better but a 2 hp would have been more than adequate.

I have a 3hp 10" Lazer. I can out cut my buddies 3/2 who have jiffy or regular strikemasters(w/o Lazer blades).

I second the comments on only getting a 2hp. Got mine as a gift and I would have purchased an 8 or 9" 2hp Lazer is buying today. Make sure to get one with the new point which keeps it from sliding around.

my 2 cents i have a 3hp 10" jiffy auger and a like it, the only thing i dont like is that the thermal round tip ups like the frabil dont fit very well and the older ones are smaller than the holes, this can be fixed with a little enginuity but anyway, how fast do you really need to cut, they all are easier then a chisle or a hand auger and they all claim they are the best. it all boils dont to what you want to spend and the size and reliability..like i said my 2 cents

bigb56303

I stay out of most auger talk, but I don't think you can go wrong with whatever you buy.