• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

bowfishing?

LiLBro

Hey,

I've been bowfishing for about 4 years now, all you need is a regular fishing license. When you get ready to go...make sure you get a retriever reel...that winds the string up inside of the plastic bottle. Get muzzy arrows. They work the best. As far as where to go...pretty much any lake has carp....try to find shallow water and you will find carp. It's a blast! smile.gif

Hey, I love to bowfish, and in fact I've been "trying" to bowfish at some warm water discharges. Not too much luck, but a couple. Its a blast. Speaking of which, I e-mailed the DNR to ask them to review a law allowing night bowfishing this summer, which can be unbeleivable fun. Went to WI last year only once, and saw alot. They person I e-mailed, said that they would talk it over since Jan and this month, so hope it passes. (Doubt it)aboutwhere do you live littlebrother?
-Good Carp Kill'n
JMN

me and lilbro are both from st paul. I was actually thinking of trying to find someone with a smoker for the carp i kill out of the lakes. I had some smoked carp last weekend and it was amazing. Don't think i could get myself to eat any fish out of the river no matter how it was cooked though.

------------------
Diplomacy - The art of saying "nice doggie" while you find a rock.

To tell you the truth I look down on bow fishing but I don't think it is as bad if you actually eat the fish you kill.

The worst thing to do IMO is just throwing them back into the water or on the shore after you shoot them.

What a waste

Be sure not to shoot buffalos - the black buffalo is endangered and you will get hit with a $10K fine for killing one. If you can't tell the difference between a carp and a buffalo you shouldn't be bowfishing, just like you shouldn't be duck hunting if you can't tell a loon from a mallard.