• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

need help for dog with arthritis

waxworm09

I have a few questions on how to help my dog with arthritis. About 2 weeks ago he started limping a little bit, and over the past 3 days it has gotten worse. He only limps in the morning and after laying down for a while, otherwise he is fine. He is almost 10, could food affect this? The reason I ask, I have been feeding him diamond naturals and nutrisource for the past 3 years. He has never shown any signs of arthritis. A month ago I decided to try some cheap stuff since the food is getting so expensive, so I bought a bag of Tuffys for half the price of nutrisource. 2 weeks after feeding him this stuff is when he started limping, is this a coincidence or could it be the food? I don't think I have ever seen him limp until now. Any recommendations on food that would help or just any good brand? Also what are some remedies to help him? I heard fish oil helps, I found alaskan salmon oil in the pet section but that's it, will that help? I bought hip and joint pills so were gonna try them also. Thanks for any advice..

Good Food is less expensive and better than cheap food with suppliments.

It may be arthritis, it may just be old age and stiff muscles... food may or may not be the cause of it. If I were you, I'd go back to what worked last and find out if it is the cause...

One St. Joseph childrens aspirin is an expensive and safe pain reliever and inflammation reducer.

Good Luck!

Ken