• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Takes but no hook up?

redneckdan

I am new to this whole catfish thing. I stopped by a local dam yesterday afternoon for a couple hours. Had several solid takes on garlic chicken livers but never got a hook into the fish. At first I was using a 6/0 circle hook then switched to a #4 treble, both with a Carolina rig. The livers were in cheese cloth. I left plenty of room for the hook points to be exposed. The fish that were messing with me must have been decent size, the bait clicker would scream pretty good when they hit. Any ideas?

Could try a different kind of bait, like cut sucker or chub to see if they wont hang on to something else a little longer . Could also try downsizing the bait your using. If all else fails, turn the clicker off and engage the spool, leave your rod set with tight line and let the fish set the hook on itself when it hits.

Rick is correct. with circle hooks you don't use the clicker. you use a tight line with them. once the fish takes the bait and starts to move off the rod will load up and bend setting the circle hook on it's own. that is a common problem if a person has not used circle hooks before, they tend to try to set the circle hook like they do with a normal J style hook and this will pull the hook right out of the fishes mouth. cut suckers is the most common type of bait used during the summer. at times crawlers will work along with the chicken livers(I would use plain chicken liver and not garlic thou). the stink baits(example : secret 7) do work but you tend to get smaller fish on them which is okay if you are looking for a few eater size fish.