• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

What a difference a good Temp sensor makes

I'm a rookie smoker, just bought a side box burner a couple weeks ago. It came with the screw in thermo on the top of the lid. I've smoked 2 Beef Brisket's, a couple racks of ribs and a pork shoulder with it using the top thermo. A few weeks ago i ordered a standing thermometer to set on the grill rack but those turned brown after 1 long smoke and wasn't sure they were accurate either.

So I ordered a digital wireless temp sensor with the two readings for meat temp and grill temp.

Oh, my what a difference that makes. It turns out my original thermo was 50-60 degrees higher than the rack temp. So I was keeping my temps at 220 (at the top thermo) but the grate temp was only around 170 and I couldn't figure out why I couldn't get my first pork shoulder over 170 internal shocked

So I smoked my first pork shoulder on Sunday (at the proper temps) and holy smokes, what a difference. That sucker was awesome!

Agreed. Makes it fun to sit inside watching the Twins game while keeping an eye the temp of your dinner slowly rising. As the temp starts to get close it lets you know when it's time to start all the sides too.

I've been struggling with temps so far in my Brinkmann Charcoal Smoker. Things are cooking fine but I can't seem to get consistent temp readings.