• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

How fussy are props

bowhunternw

I have a prop on a 75 mercury and one of the blades is dinged and dented a little on one blade. Was thinking of straightening out the edge and filing the rough edge. However I was reading that they spin at a pretty high rate and they should be balanced. Should I just replace it?

mine is dinged and sloghtly bent

cant really notice it

but i'm no expert on props

somebody's going to come on here and tell you...you are losing all kinds of power and going to ruin your motor

i dont believe all the hype around props

but i'm just a fisherman

not a prop expert

Not a prop expert either but if I have one that needs repair, it goes in to get repaired. Why take any chances with a ding or bend that could damage the motor in some way maybe? I had one that was bent a bit and I could feel it vibrate in the boat. I am sure that is not good for the motor.

Somebodies "little ding" is somebody else's large ding, without seeing it, it is hard to diagnose if it is bad to run. But as a rule of thumb, if you feel any different vibration in the boat while running you are damaging your lower-unit bearings, and replacing those isn't as cheap as getting that prop looked at and repaired/balanced.

I agree, its hard to say without seeing it. I've seen "little" knicks to some, that to me are chunks.

Standard aluminum props obviously have to be within a tolerance as determined by the manufacture of the prop but I have yet to see counter weights or precision machining to achieve absolute perfection. My point being is that small knicks (no vibration felt as mentioned by CAMAN ) probably wont cause any damage.

Where do you guys get therm repaired at and roughly what is the cost? A new one runs from $100 to $400 from what I have seen. Suppose I better do it right.