• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Arctic Cat Procross 2 stroke vs. 4 stroke

alumacraft3

Im looking into upgrading from my tourning sled to a procross series from arctic cat next winter. Ive already decided I want the most horse power they offer. Now im wondering if I should go with the 1100 turbo 4 stroke or the 800 2 stroke. Im pretty new to snowmobiling so can any of you that have either one of these sled give me some feedback. I would also like to hear the pros and cons of 2 stroke vs. 4 stroke in general also. Any information would be great. Thanks

4 strokes in general will give you less power to weight ratio but will last longer and get better fuel economy. They also run quieter and will save you a lot on oil. I've heard some good things about the AC 4 stoke turbos. They were strong sellers this year. I heard AC sold more turbos then they made and were actually recalling them from dealers to redistribute to those that pre-ordered them last year. I have a 2010 F8 and I'd love get my hands on a new 4 stroke turbo. From what I've heard you won't be disappointed by it's get-up-and-go. I rarely ask for all the power by f8 has available. It think you'll be more than happy with the upgrade either way. Talk to your dealer and see what else they have to say. In my experience they're actually pretty good at finding what's best for you based on your wants and needs. Take a look at the other manufacturers too. You might be surprised and fall in love with another sled.

If you are looking for the most HP then you'll want the 4 stroke turbo @ 177hp factory. The 2 stroke 800 isn't far behind @ 160+.

Add a $800 controller plus a new set of head bolts, air tube and a exhaust pipe and you'll have a selection of 220 hp, 260 hp and 290 hp with a rotation of a dial grin this is for the 4 stroke turbo of course.