• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

scratchers?

toughguy

Truthfully I've never had them and the old style ones were kind of a pain because if you back up they get bent. I've heard good things about a brand called Slidekicks that are supposed to be ok for backing up and they have replaceable tips if they get worn. No matter what kind you have, if you go too slow they wont throw ice chips far enough to get where it needs to be. Other than that they will definitely help when there is no snow!

Wondering what is the limit one should take a sled onto ice with little or no snow? I am new to owning 15 year old sled that I use only for fishing. I've been told it is the hifax that overheats??? Are we talking any use is potential for disaster or do you need to put on a few miles first?

Having run my sled on many occasions in conditions with little or no snow, I would say that if you take it slow you will not overheat the Hifax (those 100 MPH ice runs will melt them though). As far as cooling goes, again, take it easy and watch the temp light. You can go a long way before you overheat the sled, and if you use scratchers that distance increases.

As far as needing studs, unless you are pulling a heavy load or pushing the performance limits, an un-studded track will work just fine on bare ice. A little spinning at the start but otherwise it works OK. For fishing and pulling a portable you will have more than enough traction.

Ice Scratchers will do little if anything for cooling your engine or lubricating your hifax on bare ice. If you have a little bit of snow, they will help.