• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Busted

muskieswen

I have hunted deer for a long time but this is my first year bow hunting. My wife and I had the chance to go out on Saturday (her first year hunting any big game) I set my wife up in a nice trail intersection and I set up on a good used trail. So we have the two rookie bow hunters set up and ready to go. Being a old gun hunter, we never worried to much on scent but with the bow we know what got to get close so we did the whole shower thing and sprayed down with scent killer before we entered the woods. We do not have stands so we have to hunt on the ground. My wife did not see anything although she said she is pretty sure she heard one go behind her. I got busted by a young buck. He wheezed and took off with no shot opportunity. Long story short deer scores one wife and I zero. Wife can't wait to go again. I don't think I will ever hunt deer with a rifle again. Awesome sport is what I say.

Yep it's fun stuff. I had an old mature doe at 6 yards this weekend, she just caught the tail end of my draw and locked in on me so we had a little stare down and I could count her eye lashes. I just needed 1 second to get my pins settled but she bolted.

Bow hunting rules!

Wife started 3 years ago and has had many close calls and has even left an arrow or 2 fly, but no connection and last week she had a doe under 10 yards and she was at full draw and needed the doe to take 1 more step to release and the doe never scented her, doe stopped turned and walked away, no shot opportunity, but we believe in scent control and playing the wind. We hunt from stands and she is severely addicted. Now my daughter and son-in-law are amoung the newly bitten.

Good luck and have fun!