• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Yar Craft 1895 with a Etech 115 trolling speed.

Borch

I'm looking at buying a 2001 yarcraft 1895 with a 2007 etech 115 on a 6" jackplate and I'm wondering if anyone has run this set up. I'm more concerned with trolling speed as I do a lot of late fall crank trolling. I know that you can reprogram the engine computer to drop the rmps down to 400 or 500 rpm. So I think I can get down to a reasonable trolling speed without having to use any bags to slow me down. The guy selling the boat has not used it as it was his son's boat.

i have 20+ft yar craft with 150 e-tec

i can troll foward bout 2.5 on flat water

just bout right for cranks

i would think on that boat you should be albe to get down there ok for crank baits

curious why it has a jack plate on it

Hey Jeff. I have no experience with the boat or motor you're looking at, but I have fished out of quite a few boats with 115s on them (not etecs), and have quite a few friends who have (or had) 115s (not etecs). So here is my opinion / slightly educated guess for you.

My guess is the normal trolling speed you're looking at with that rig is in the 2.2 to 2.5 range. Maybe a bit less since you can drop the rpms down. I've just never seen a boat with a 115 that trolls slower than that by itself, and a lot of the guys I know with 115s who were serious about trolling cranks ended up going with kicker motors sooner or later.

Prop pitch comes into play here and your "best" option for slower trolling might be to put a lower pitch prop on the motor when you want to get under 2 mph. You'll have to be careful on the top end --- if you run WOT you'll over-rev the motor, and you won't have all your speed when running fast --- but for trolling it will slow you down.