• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Starter not engaging flywheel?

bobbymalone

I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to this stuff so bear with me...

When I turn the key the starter turns but the little gear on the top of the starter motor doesn't pop up to turn the flywheel. The starter doesn't appear to have a secondary circuit that operates a magnet or something to pop it up. It almost seems like it should just pop up as it turns.

Like I said the starter turns, and I can turn it by hand. I cannot, however, move the little gear thing up and down on the shaft. Should I be able to?

Any help? Is it new starter time?

BTW the starter hadn't turned in a long long long time before I tried it tonight. It's an 82 Evinrude 75 HP, 3 cyl, 2 stroke.

Hi noob. grin

The engagement gear for the starter should slide up the starter motor shaft when it gets voltage, thus engaging the flywheel. I have a similar motor, and I'm working off memory so bear with me a bit. I believe it's spring loaded to disengage from the flywheel when the starter motor isn't getting voltage.

You can get rebuild kits for these starters. Depending on how mechanically inclined you are a rebuild is possible. Otherwise, I believe you are correct in saying it's time for a new starter. Which, is quite simple to replace.

The bendix and pinion gear are likely dry and a little dirty. Spray a little WD-40 between the pinion and the bendix (shaft the pinion gear runs up and down on) Let ti sit for a little bit then take 2 screw drivers and GENTLY pry up on the gear. Once its free then yea you can move it easily by hand. Use a little more WD to clean it up.