• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

new to bowhunting

wannafish2

Hey everybody! I have recently purchased a used bow. It is an Alpine archery 50lb RH. nothing really fancy, and I have never bow hunted. I have been a gun hunter since I was old enough to carry a gun with my dad, and recently thought I would give archery a try. The bow I bought has a peep sight already installed, but the previous owner used his fingers to pull the string back, and I prefer a release aid. Now, that changes where the peep is at full draw, and I can't use it. Please keep in mind, I am a rookie, and female, with no companion or other bow hunters to ask, I am on my own, and in new territory. I live in the DL/Moorhead area and hunt in Bemidji. Are there any recommendations for me as to where I can bring the bow and get a little friendly guidance? and maybe show me how to adjust the peep, and possibly shot this thing? Thanks.

Check out any proshops in your area. I dont know of any, but there probably has to be one. They will take care of you. That peep sight can be moved no problem. There is a gander mountain your way right?.. I know there is one in Bemidji and there is a very large archery club in Bemidji as well.. great group!!!

Continue to ask questions here at HSO, the guys and gals here will take care of you and point you in the right direction.. Welcome to the addiction called bowhunting!!!

DD's right, find a proshop near you. Look in the yellow pages under "archery". There's bound to be a few in your area. They can get it all set up just right for you, then you can enjoy this great sport.