• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

first spear fishing adventure

Muskysucker

I am new to Spear fishing and I LOVE IT.

I have only been out once and speared a 28 1/2 inch pike. Thats the only one we saw but it was one of the most fun things i have done in a long time. We rented a house from Woodlands Resort at devils Lake and were spearing in 5 fow. I am taking the wife up there on the 30th.

Does anyone have tips on decoy colors or techniques, I am a rookie and am trying to learn this awsome sport so any thing helps.

Welcome to the last hobby you will ever pick up!

My favorite color for decoys, in order: Red head + white body; chartreuse; black and silver. I also have one I made that is white with black tiger stripes that the fish have really responded to this year. Two Daredevils (without hooks) hooked together are a nice lure, too, when used sparingly.

Let the fish tell you what they like, and use a live sucker along with your decoy (if allowed, that is--not sure of the rules on Devil's Lake), and don't be afraid to change decoys/colors fairly often. Many times fish hang outside your hole but don't come into view until you try a color they respond to for that day. The next day may be different...let the fish be your guide.

Some days I jig my decoy every few minutes; some days I barely touch it (and I mean maybe a few slow circles per hour)--it just depends, again, on the mood of the fish. A good thing to remember is that in 90% of cases, if your decoy is sitting still, the fish will come in slow. If you are actively jigging, the fish fly in fast. Everyone can attest that a motionless decoy can still get hammered fast, but few would say a fast-jigged decoy brings in a slow fish! Slow fish = quality shots.