• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

track studing question

mltjanderson

I'm new to this sport so please help. I have a 98 Indy 500 I add plastic skis w/ dual carbides. The three friends that got me into riding have very different opinions on if/or how many studs I need to add to the track. one says I don't need stud, one says 48 is enough, the last guy says a min. of 96 if not 144. Your opinions please. Thanks Mark

I have always used the theory no less then 1 stud per horse power. I think 48 might be a little light and think that with that sled that 96 would be plenty.

Just remember that you have to have a stud permit to run on a snowmobile trail.

Didn't they do away with the stud permit, and just now use a trail sticker/permit? I don't have studs, but get the trail sticker as you need it even without studs... I thought anyway. But I am new at this smile

I am thinking about studs on my sleds, but not sure. I see my wife's rear end sliding a bit (haha, insert joke here wink ) and was thinking it might help her in corners.

The stud permit was eliminated a couple years ago.

Studded sleds are not allowed on paved trails, and there are more and more year-round recreation (snowmobile) trails built each year. These trails are posted quite well, and ID'd on the maps to let you know.

96 studs should be minimal and sufficient for a 500cc sled, IMO.

You are right they got rid of the stud permit and you are required to have a trail permit if you are going to use the trail system.

I have not had to worry about the stud issue for a couple years now with my rmk and forgot.

sorry for the wrong info.