• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Catfish Spawning

rockingroy

What time of year do catfish spawn? I'm new to catfishing and caught one the other day with a very large belly. I was just wondering if this could have been a female full of eggs?

Spawning is more temperature driven than a specific date. We need water temps of 75 degrees or higher to trigger the spawn. Typical spawning months in Minnesota - Wisconsin are June to early August. With this cool spring here in Minnesota we have a ways to go for the spawn. If that cat had a large belly she probably just had a good meal. They will take some BIG fish for supper.

If that cat had a large belly she probably just had a good meal.

Yeppers!! She was just eating real well. We're quite aways off from both the Channel & Flathead cat spawns.

They are all eating well now with this high water. From what I can tell, it success might be a matter of timing. I've seen spots hot at one point and a few hours later dead. They don't have look for forage constantly. Then when it is time to feed they feed in groups corralling some of the schools of minnows.

All the channels I have caught lately have been stuffed. Surprised a few of them even thought they had room for my bait.

I would guess the spawn to be mid july this year.

All the channels I have caught lately have been stuffed. Surprised a few of them even thought they had room for my bait.

I don't think that the spawn is entirely driven by temp. I think that daylight has a effect as well. The fish will trigger by the combination. Consistant warm temps can trigger an early spawn. But the fish need the fry to reach a certain size and can't wait till the end of the summer for warm water temps.