• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Sled Question?

CB34

I am currently in the market for a sled. My price range is under $1,200. Having owned Arctic Cats before I am fairly partial to the 98-99 Z440 fan or the ZL 500 w/ carbs. I have seen some of these in that price range. The reason I like these sleds are for their overall performance and simplicity. I want a sled that I can put the wife on with little instruction on how to get it going and use it. My question is what models from other manufactures would be good options for me to also consider? I have no experience with a brand other than Arctic Cat. I will probably put on less than 300 miles a year doing some trail riding, ditch riding and pulling the fish house around the lake. I am not really interested in anything larger than a 500cc. I look forward to your insight.

I just got 2002 polaris xc500 and 2002 yammie venture 2up 600. My wife likes both, the lightness of the 500 but the solid feel of the 2up, and the ease of use of the 2up, with reverse and electric start. She likes the 600 2up and calls that one "hers" smile

I will ditto the earlier comment on the indy 500 polaris, but would also say the same about the indy 440. Both sled came with a very nice suspension for the year and were a blast to drive. My bro-in-law just picked up a 92 440 a few weeks ago and he already has 300 miles on it and just loves it. He previously owned (a number of years ago) A cat sno pro? 440, a indy 600 and indy 500. He bought his current 440 because the price was right and he wanted something to putt around the yard with his young kids, but he's loved hitting the trails with it as well.