• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Crappie minnow

Dan Thiem

Just wondering how everybody hooks a crappie minnow while ice fishing under a float.Say you were using a tear drop shape jig.
Do you lip hook the minnow , or through the top of the back(shoulder area), or back by the tail ?

Another question. What about waxies? Same way bobber and tear drop.
Some people hook it hot dog style others through the end. Is that little brown spot on the end the head ?

Dan:

For crappie minnows, i hook then back by the tail, at the top of the back. This has seemed to work better for me under a bobber, the minnows stay alive and active longer. As for waxies, i usually switch it up. Sometimes the hotdog style, others i will put it on the hook the long ways. I do believe that brown part is the head, but im no waxie expert.

If the crappies are biting lite I'll sometimes hook the minnows through the lips but backwards so the tip of the hook is away from the minnow if this makes any sense. Seems like crappies like to inhale the minnow head 1st so this method gets the hook deeper in their mouth. This does take some practice to hook them right so they still give some action.

I always seem to kill wax worms so I can't help you there. I have had better luck with Eurolarvae though, they have tougher skin so I have an easier time hooking them without ripping them apart.

OK here is my big secret.Try hooking them on one side (ie.left or right) just enough to break through the skin then turn the hook to come right back on the same side.Do not go to deep or your minnow will be dead quick.This is real easy to do once you get the hang of it.I like to do this with just a plain small hook (sometimes the colored hooks work better)

------------------
Greg

Good topic!