• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Strikemaster Oil Blow By

HarryG

Question

I have a strikemaster Lazer and it works fine. But I am getting a lot of Oil coming out of my muffler. I am using an oil designed for air cooled 2 cycles. Last year it did not do this nearly as much but I cannot recall as to what I did differently. I know this was posted before, but I cannot find it.

Thanks HarryG

8 answers to this question

Are you mixing it at 24:1 like it's recommended? Mine did the same thing even when mixed correctly (resulting in Zebra striped walls), so I switched to Amsoil Sabre synthetic 2-stroke lubricant mixed at 80:1. You can mix it as thin as 100:1 (recommended), but I would rather err on the thick side as I only mix 1 gallon at a time. No more watery eyes, no more striped walls, no more 15 minutes of airing out the house (now 2-3 minutes), no more goo on the muffler. Do a search for this product here and you will be impressed. Oh yeah, if the performance doesn't sell you the price will: 8 oz for around $5.00 when I bought it, and you are mixing it MUCH thinner so it lasts longer. There is a distributor that posts here (Oilman?) and I think they may be a sponsor.

McGurk has the solution to your problem.

Those little bottles of oil that Strikemaster sells are junk.

A couple years ago, I had some extra Klotz synthetic snowmobile oil laying around. I mixed up a gallon with the Klotz and ran it in my auger for most of that winter. It was sort of an experiment and it worked. There was absolutely no oily residue leaking out of the muffler. The only problem was Klotz has a very distint odor that I got sick of smelling while ice fishing.

So... now I run Amsoil Saber and couldn't be happier. Very little to no smoke. No obnoxious smell. And no black goop leaking out of my auger muffler.

Make the switch, you'll be happy!