• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Summerizing sled suggestions

I am new to the snowmobile scene. I just picked a couple used sleds up this weekend and am wondering what I should be doing to get them ready for summer storage. I've added sta-bil to the gas and let that run through already. I've also got the back end sitting on some logs to get the track up off the ground. I don't know if that is necessary. Any suggestions or thoughts are highly appreciated. Thanks!!

Are these sleds EFI or Carbs? You should fog the carbs and the cylinders (or just the cylinders if EFI). Also take the belt off so no corrosion gets on the clutches. Clean it and that's about all you need to do. Wouldn't hurt to grease everything and check the fluids like brake and anti freeze too, but that's not necessarily a summerizing thing, just good routine check up stuff.

One is older with a carb only, the other is EFI. How do you go about foging the cylinders, or carb for that matter? I'm thinking of getting the clutch and belt replaced so I'll probably hold off on that. And what do you think about having the back end lifted so the track isn't on the ground, is it necessary? Thanks again!

SNOWMOBILE STORAGE CHECKLIST

Off-season or extended storage requires preventative measures to prolong the service life of your engine and other components. Proper storage preparation greatly improves the life and look of any sled. Use this checklist as a guide to your summer snowmobile storage preparation.