• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Question for Mr. Tom Wilson

Wirenut

First of all, your pictures are amazing, are you a professional photographer?, and also what camera are you shooting to get those in flight duck shots? I apologize if you have discussed this before, I just pop in once and awhile to look at the photos while visiting this site.

Wirenut,

Am I a professional? NO! Am I a very serious amateur that has been published and sells his work frequently? Yes. I have been doing photography for about 9 years now, and started selling my work after only two. I spent a lot of time doing Horse shows last year and made a fair chunk of change, but it's the nature photography that stirs me, and that is what I prefer to do. There's not a lot of money in it though, as it becomes tougher and tougher to get published, and since the advent of digital the market it's getting even tougher. I shoot film with a Nikon F5, and I shoot digital with a Nikon D70. My long lenses are third party Sigma lenses. They are not prime glass, but they are acceptable for many images. They are good, they're just not great(fast and sharp). If your willing to do it though, and I'm proof of that, you can get great photos even with less than great glass. I am very proud of my photos, and I appreciate every nice word that has ever been said about them by the people who look at them. It is my personal goal however to become better each day. One day Maybe I'll sell all kinds of my work, but for now I do what I can, and I enjoy the snot out of it.

Thanks,

Tom W