• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Keeping Shiners Overnight

Down to Earth

I'm just starting out ice fishing so not quite sure on minnow life as I don't usually buy many. Anyways if I buy a few shiners the night before an ice fishing outting will they still be alive the next day or will I just walk out into the garage to a pail of dead shiners? Unfortunately I don't have any type of aerato system. I'm not sure if bait stores will be open early enough on my fishing day to buy them the day of. Thanks.

Andy

If you get them in an oxygen bag from the bait shop (might cost you an extra quarter, probably free) & keep them cool they'll be fine. I have shiners in a minnow bucket in the fridge in my garage & as long as I keep the water fresh they do pretty well. Just don't put too many minnows in one bucket. Try to keep only a dozen shiners or so in one bucket & you should do alright. It really should be styrofoam lined. I've had terrible luck keeping them alive in a flow troll even in the fridge.

Hey Down to Earth, how ya been?

Unfortunately shiners are the most difficult bait to keep alive, sometimes they don't even make it from the bait shop to the lake mad.gif

I picked up a small aerator and a small aerator stone, plus some water conditioner(makes your tap water fish friendly). I believe you can pick all this stuff up for about 20 bucks. Well worth every penny considering how much bait costs.

I keep a 5 gallon pail in the basement and I change the water every few days or I bring fresh lake water home when I go fishing.

It's worked really well for me I've still got shiners that I bought last Friday for the Minnetonka event. I also have some crappie and fatheads I bought over two weeks ago.

I hope to make it down for the “Backwater Brawl”