• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Spiderwire Stealth\mitchell 300 problems

moby1

Question

Just bought Mitchell 300 last week. Used it for the first time on Saturday. I spooled Spiderwire Stealth (20lb./6lb diameter). I have never used this line before. I fought that reel all day and finally put it away. For lack of better term, I kept experiencing "backlash" type of problems. The line going out while casting would somehow grab the line deeper in the spool and pull it out causing a huge cluster@*%!. To get it out I would have to cut or delicatley pull out yard after yard of line until it was farther down the spool. Is it the line, open face combo or the way it was spooled...????? Any insight would be mutch appreciated.
Thanks Brent

10 answers to this question

With new or different line you might need to adjust your brake, your magnetic spool control and your manual thumb control.

Mono backing means using regular monofilament line on the spool for the first part of the line. I know guys who spool 5 feet on for backing, and guys who spool 15 yards on.

I personally don't use backing, I put electrical tape around the spool before I put my "super line" on the reel. 20 lb test Berkley Gorilla Braid has never given me a problem with it spinning on the spool. I used to use Cabela's Ripcord and that would spin on the spool, but that was before I learned the electrical tape trick.

[This message has been edited by say_der (edited 07-02-2003).]

Mitchell 300 as in the spinning reel I presume?