• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

worried about CWD?

Just curious, is anyone really worried about the CWD disease that got so much publicity last year? I fish in Minnesota, but hunt deer in Wisconsin. I promise you I'm more worried crossing my street or getting shot out of my treestand than "catching" this "disease", which still doesnt have proof anyone ever has attained it!About 100,000 hunters stayed home last year due to the scare in Wisconsin. Wow, the power of the press! Good huntin!

I'm concerned for the herd itself, but have no fear of eating venison. I hunt Colorado, and they have had CWD in the elk and deer population since at leat the late 60's. I know of no known case where CWD has effected a human.

I am no scientist by any means, in doing my own private polls it seems that CWD has been around for a long time. Some of the older guys at deer camp said they used to call it "wandering disease" becasue the deer they saw woud just wander around oblivious to everything. Now if you don't eat obviously sick animals I don'think you have anything to worry about. In Wisconsin they have a zone that they are trying to eradicate the whole herd, well a buddy of mine went there and shot 2 does and 2 nice bucks, and let me tell you, those deer were delicious!! Good luck and just use your head when it comes to eating any animal, if it doesn't seem right don't eat it!!

But the paranoia means no bringing back whole deer carcasses from WI. Gonna be a real pain sitting in the parking lot of the gas station after registration skinning and boning out an animal. Not sure where to throw the carcass then either.