• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

portable tree stands

I've been hunting in Wisconsin for 26 years in the same area. I've used portable tree stands for last 16 years. PLEASE tell me who puts these stands up in the pre-dawn pitch black darkness,as the law says you must take them down daily?? Do they really think we will wait til light on opening morning to put them up? I'm talking about the big ladder stands that go to 16 feet and have ratchets and securing rods and the like. I have a hell of a time in the light! I believe Minnesota and most other states also have the "take down daily" rule also. Then we read from the experts to cautiously walk to your stand in the morning so not to alarm the deer in the area. Of course, we will be real quiet putting up a stand in the dark, banging the ladder sections together, etc. Ha! So, what do you portable stand hunters do under these regulations? Of course, I'm talking putting them on public, not private land. Happy stand huntin!!

I hunt in both states mn and wi and I dont take them down till I am done hunting there. So far I have not heard anything or been in trouble for it. I feel as you do. The noise would make sure that your hunting area is devoid of any wildlife. You also stand a much greater risk of injury trying to put those stands up in the dark.
Maybe I do the wrong thing leagaly but at least I get shots and have no broken bones from trying to do it in the dark.

I have done the same thing, but be careful. I personally know that in some areas of the state the DNR guys will make sweeps through public land and take down any tree stands. They leave you a note on your tree and have to pay a fine to get your stand back. I don't really see the harm if you had a rule like Two weeks before and two weeks after or something like that.