• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Any such thing as a reasonable price fish/sport glass boat?

weld1

Current boat is a alumacraft trophy 180 w/ F150 yamaha, we would like to find a glass boat that is similar to this style as every one i talk to says the glass boats ride much better in rough waters?? I have checked out and really like the nitro 290 sport and the skeeter wx1900 but the price range is much higher than i would like to spend at this time... does anyone have any other ideas that i could check out? im still learning about the fiberglass boats, thank you for any insight!

I think your cheapest option will be the Starcraft STX 186 (new version of the Sylvan Viper mentioned above). Seems to be a good boat but not much talk about it.

Also take a look at the Larson FX 1850. I don't know the price range on that, but have to believe it would be cheaper than the Rangers and Lunds.

I was in the same "boat" you are in a few years ago.

Could not justify Ranger dollars.

I settled on a Stratos 386 XF.

I could not be happier.

This was about $15K under a Ranger.

The fit & finish are not as perfect as a Ranger but it is basically the same boat.

As far as glass vs. aluminum you will not be disapointed.

Much smoother ride, great on rough water, and the spray is not an issue.

I was in the same "boat" you are in a few years ago.

Could not justify Ranger dollars.

I settled on a Stratos 386 XF.

I could not be happier.

This was about $15K under a Ranger.

The fit & finish are not as perfect as a Ranger but it is basically the same boat.

As far as glass vs. aluminum you will not be disapointed.

Much smoother ride, great on rough water, and the spray is not an issue.