• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Tip-Ups 101: How to line the rig help

masoct3

Hey there,

So this is my first year with tip ups. I have two of the Frabil 10" Pro Thermals (Pictures below). I have line ready to be wound, and I have a rig with a leader. The issue or stage I am at is before all this fun:

Question: With the given pictures, can you please tell me what I need to be doing to wound (sp?) the line and specifically, what I do with the metal "L" bar. Also, the middle adapter rises and falls on my demand. (Just FYI).

I honestly have tried YouTube, Google and our search, but I could not find a simple setup for this, albeit it must not be that hard.

Thank you.

I appreicate your help in advance...

MAS

s7_190410_999_01_zpsebc36b22.jpg

frabil1.jpg

frabil2.jpg

frabil3.jpg

For starters you put your fishing line into the spool like you would a fishing reel. The line then goes out of the spool through the metal loop next to the spool. To set the tip up you want to put the flag part into the larger slot and put the black pastic piece on the flag shaft. Haven't used a round Frabill in 10 years but suspect two sensitivy settings? Guessing one side of the black plastic piece is easier to set off than the other, could be wrong.

Haven't run a round tip up in 10 years but they are the same in theory to the standard style tip ups.

Hope this makes a little sense.

Hello there,

So, I wanted to post an update as to where I am and if I can get any closing advice, that would be great!

By the pictures, my line is wound and I have a connecting leader/rig. I am wondering what I do now? I have those mini red bobbers but I do not know where they go. How do I put a limit on the line?

I have learned the flag on top can be set at an angle or a flat to ensure a hookset and not a false alarm.

Thanks again,

Michael