• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Braided Line for Deep Cranking?

NickMcD63

I just purchased a Dobyns 805 CB RM and I was anticipating for vibration from the tip when deep cranking. Most of the time I am deep cranking a weedline so abrasion isn't going to be a huge issue, but does anyone use a thin diameter braid for deep cranking? How is your hook up ratio? I am hoping this will give me more feel and will allow to rip better out of weeds.

I am probably in the minority, but I love braid for cranking. I know you want the stretch in your line and a moderate action rod for the best hooksets, but when I have used braid I usually have a pretty good hookup ratio.

I love braid for cranking as well. I'm using floro this year(a lot of pros use it), but I'm going back to braid (I'm not a pro).

I just like the feel coupled with the 7' MH e-glass rod and the strong hook sets or setting into a rock or tree or dock, etc...

Hiya -

I occasionally use braid for deep cranks, mainly when I'm fishing really thick deep coontail. The braid razors through the coon a little better than my usual fluoro, and I can put ore force into snapping a bait free when I get buried in the stuff.

You do have to take the no stretch of braid into account when you're picking a rod (I use a glass rod) and when fighting fish - easy to pull the hooks out on a a fish if you aren't careful. But I think it does have a time and place.

RK

I started with mono, switched to braid, then switched to flouro and I'm back to braid again. I just don't get the feel I want with flouro/mono. I don't know how the pros do it. if I'm really confident with my casting paths (i.e. I can cast accurately enough to not need to feel for the rock) I can switch but do so rarely. I need to feel that rock for confidence.