• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Thermocline fishing

cray

I have been fishing a lake with what appears to be the thermocline at about 17 feet. I was told not to bother fishing any deeper than the thermocline so I have been fishing 17 feet and shallower. Is it really that simple?

I like to fish anywhere from the center of the thermocline to 3 or 4 feet above. Yeah its that simple. Lot of large roaming fish found in thermoclines.

These were from last year, but the thermo set up between 17 and 28. Walleyes between 19" and 23"...Lot of em! wink

full-26433-22149-s00216.png

full-26433-22150-s00217.png

I'm new to the concept of thermoclines. So how once you find out what depth the thermocline is in, how do you use that information to find out where the walleyes are?

For instance, do you find depths where the thermocline is at the bottom around some sort of structure? Thanks!

Well, when your cruising around a big deep basin and locate the big arcs, start there.

Typically fish in the thermocline aren't moving around too much, so once pin pointed, you can concentrate your fishing, i also don't find them bunched up, more so spread out in an area. Much of their location depends on bait fish.

Depths where the thermocline is approaching the bottom...Yes i've caught walleyes there too, but other times those areas are deserted. Thermo walleyes require good electronics, gps, and often some patience to find out what bait they'll take. This year i'll be trying some vertical jigging as well as pulling spinners behind a DR rather than just trolling cranks. Eratic stops and starts can also help trigger the bites, also at times the bite can happen in a window and marginal fishing the rest of the time.

Good luck.