• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Pike Rods

Hawg

I'm brand new to the Northern game, I fished my first tournament this weekend. I learned that short handled rods suck for casting in a hurry, I had one good one and one with too short and too skinney a handle. I've been a Loomis and SC guy in the past for walleys but here goes. I have very good reels and understand the importance of those but-does a person need to go to high end rods for Pike or are there rods in the $50-$100 range that work as well. As a rookie it seems a good handle on a good stiff med hvy rod with a fast or extra fast tip is the ticket. This would be for spoons and small bucktail spinners. Thank you, from a newbee.

Hiya -

Personally, I think you can cover most of what a guy needs for pike fishing with a bass style flipping stick. Something in the 7 to 7'6" range, med-heavy, with a fast tip. Plenty of power for pike (I use flipping sticks for muskies all the time), length for making long casts, and as versatile as can be.

You can find multiple brands for flipping sticks in the 70-100 dollar range.

RK

I bought gander mountain brand rods for spinning reels, I love them. I think they were around 30-40 dollars, and they have a nice selection. The thing I look for in rods is a lot of eyelets, and how sturdy they feel. For casting I recommend a 7' rod in medium heavy action. Braided line is great for pike, 20-30 pound power pro will never break. Some might disagree, but you really need a steel leader for pike. 80-100 pound mono leader will hold up, but It seems to degrade lure action, and it needs to be replaced every time you catch a fish.

+1 on flipping sticks!

Do some looking. For $75- $100 you should have numerous options. I like ones with a long enough handle that i can cast using both hands. Much easier on the arms. grin