• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Male or Female Lab?

winniewalleye777

I am looking at getting a chocolate lab pup sometime this spring. I trained my parents female chocolate when I was in high school so I have some experience with labs, but am now looking for a dog of my own. I absolutely loved training and hunting behind my parents dog, but she was so dominant around other dogs (especially other females) that it almost took the fun away.

Is this a common trait of female labs? I am leaning toward a male at this point, but am open to all advice.

I will be training the dog for pheasant and duck hunting.

One more thing, I live in Redwood Falls and could use some advice on where to begin my search for breeders and such. Thanks in advance!

Touchy subject, and realizing this please understand that these are simply generalizations and my own findings.

Female pros - Seem to progress quicker (catch on and stay focused during training better)

When spayed they done make a mess, mark things etc.

Smaller size

And in my experience a little more protective of kids and spouses

If you do want to eventually breed you have that option.

Female cons - without spaying they will make a mess and make other dogs a pain to keep away, many field trials will not allow you to run a dog in season. Along with this comes unwanted pregnancies.

Depending on how you look at it, they are smaller which can relate to not being as strong in the field, and not take as much "abuse" in the field.

Male pros - Stronger, last longer in field, seem to be a little less hard headed and more pleasing to the owner.

A little more affectionate towards the owner.

No mess from being in season.

Male cons - will become interested in females and sometimes loose focus to the task at hand when they are around.

Marking