• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Forgive my ignorance but I have a ? on Assault guns

Was in the local FF the other day and seen the sign that you had to have a special license to purchase! When the heck did this take place. It was just a semi automatic rifle, yeah they had larger clips but what the he--. Did this happen during my 5 year absence from MN. Or am i just not keeping up with when I should be

since they are considered an assault rifle and not a hunting rifle they are treated like a pistol when you go to purchase one need a permit to carry or permit to purchase to get one. just another stupid govt rule if you ask me

I believe (I am not an expert) that it has more to do with certain items found on that rifle then simply that it looks "assault-ish"....Flash hider, bayonet lug, etc. When I bought my AR15 5 years ago, it had a bull barrel on it, no flash hider or bayonet lug and I did not need permit to purchase. Not sure if those regulations changed in MN, but I cringe every time I hear them referred to as Assault Rifles.....

I don't know when it changed, but here is the state statute which defines when a permit is required for purchase and I've highlighted the part that is the "catchall" for AR style rifles.

I ran into the same thing a few years ago when I bought a Rock River AR...ordered it online and had it transferred to a FFL only to find out I needed the permit to purchase when I arrived to pick it up. It didn't make sense to me either as I viewed it as just another semi-auto rifle and the permit is called a "permit to purchase a handgun", so I had no reason to believe that anything over and above was required to buy this rifle. So, about a week or so later I had my permit and finalized the transaction.