• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Beeper Collar?

Kylersk

I've got a 9 week old GWP. I'm just learning all about training a hunting dog. My intent is to take him at the very least Pheasant Hunting and Grouse hunting. I hope to get into water fowl as well. I'm a novice at all of this (hunting and training). It should be a great learning curve for My Daughter, dog and my self. smile

I've been researching some of the ecollars and think I'm leaning toward the SportDog 1825 or TT basic. The sportdog 1850 has a beeper with it. I'm not sure if I can add on a beeper to the 1825 though.

Anyways, is a beeper collar something I'll need/want?

Thanks in advance.

Some like them. I have two sets of 1850's, one for each dog. Thought I'd use it but haven't in a couple years. Been using a bell on the collar instead.

In hindsight, wish I would have saved the money.

If you do use the 1850, it is really loud. I stuffed mine with cotton balls and covered them with electrical tape to muffle the sound.

In my advice, no we've been hunting pheasants for years using the Sportdog collars and we've never been fond of the beepers. It's always been a good bell (cheep one's can be too loud and can damage the dogs hearing/concentration in the field) besides it's one more thing that can go bad while hunting-If the battery dies in the field you can at least know the location of the dog when their wearing a bell.

Hope that helps let me know if you have any more training questions we've been training GSP's for 21 years and would love to answer any further questions. Gotta love the wire hairs too! -Jordan

Any reason why your not looking at the Dogtra 2500 T&B?