• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Stalking?

Rippinlip

How many people do this or have tried to do it?

I have some time today before I go to the stand this afternoon and I was thinking about trying some stalking/still hunting on some public land, is this possible to be successful?

What are some tips/techniques that I should try.

Stalking is a blast. I have been doing it for quite a few years. I usually will try it with the right conditions. You will need wet ground or a good wind. With all the leaves on the ground it is super noisy right now. Patience is key. I try for about 150 yards and hour. Hunt into the wind, walk slowly, take a few steps ans stop by a tree/bush, use your bino's to constantly scan. A motionless deer is almost impossible to see. Look for the flicker of an ear, tail, antler. It is a tough way to hunt but man is it rewarding just to see and then harvest a deer while stalking.

It's a lot harder for me now because of some age related aches and pains, but it can be done! Privious post was right on. You have to "feel" with your feet on each step to go between the sticks so you don't break any. Soft soled boots, like mucklucks, would be a real plus. Stealth and quiet, not speed, are of the essence. It's ok to take standing positions along the way, hoping to intersect a moving deer on a trail rather than stalking up on a resting animal too. The longer you can stand motionless the better. It's a lot easier with a rifle than with a bow, but what would be more satisfying that taking a deer stalking it with a bow. If you do get one by this method, you'll be among the elite of the elite. Good luck.