• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Lindy Shadling

I'm no expert when it comes to crankbaits. I don't run planer boards or even line counter reels, I don't have any rods specifically designed for pulling crankbaits, I don't do lead core or snap weights. This is what I do, I tie on a decent snap and put on a Lindy Shadling.

This lure runs true right out of the package, which is a big plus for me. I hate trying to tune a crankbait, which way do you bend the loop again?? We haven't seen color patterns on a crankbait match the colors of our local baitfish so well. The layer of colors and the finish on these cranks puts it up above the competition. They have the color patter to "match the hatch" in any body of water that you fish. From alewife to fathead to dace and many more, they have you covered. Top it all off with the realistic holographic eyes and you have a winner in my book.

I have been having some luck with the Lindy Shadlings the last couple of trips out. I've been running the #7 in the bluegill pattern along the deep edge of the cabbage in 16 to 18 feet of water. This lure will run down 14 feet with 10 pound fireline a good cast length behind the boat. I usually run this on the deep side of the boat, and on the shallow side I'll throw on a #5 in either the red tail, or the golden shiner pattern. I've been noticing that #5 runs around 10 to 11 feet down on 10 pound fireline.

The past couple trips on different lakes, they really smacked the lure too, it wasn't a subtle bite at all. The walleyes would just smack the lure and turn and burn! Hard to believe they hit it so hard. You'll catch a lot of pike on the Shadling, as well as bass, and the occasional crappie and perch.