• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

New to spearing, any help appreciated!

ac777

Hi all, I am new to the spearing world. I have been fishing as long as I can remember, and was able to go out spearing with a buddy last year for my first time. As far as gear, I have an auger, a spear, some decoys, a FISH toys Ice saw, and some Ice tongs. I will be spearing out of my Fishtrap that I will be putting reflectix in to darken and heat. What are some tips for me? Whats the best time of day to go? What parts of the lake are best to set up on? How about rivers? Are they harder or easier? I have a river close by my house I would like to try. And one last question, do you keep your spear tips in the water? or doesn't it matter? Thanks for any advice, and I hope to hear from many of you with more experience than me. Thanks

First of all, the best time to go is anytime the sun is up. I try to find a weedline if I can or a point with access to deeper water. I usually set up in less than 10 feet of water but if I can see the bottom I won't hesitate to set up deeper. I prefer light colored bottoms like sand so it's easier to see the fish come in. I keep my spear out of the water until I see a fish, mostly because I don't want to accidentally drop it and spook anything that might be in the area or stir up silt on the bottom. Typically I put artificial decoys down (mainly because I can never keep a sucker alive long enough to get set up) but I think experimenting with things like spoons can't hurt.

spear goes in when pike come in

time of day seems like this year its between 9am thru 2pm have been the best producing thus far.

I like to use live decoys and fake at the same time or even a spoon spinning instead of the fake decoy.