• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Ice Sticks...

For the past few years or so I have been giving ice fishing rods as gifts at Christmas to some family members and close friends. I personalize them with different types of wood for the handles. It has been fun and I have tried to teach some of the recipients how to do it as they have friends and family that also want this done. When they see how much time one can put into these handles they seem to just want me to do it for a price.

I'll get back to this. eek

I'm not very good with my dexterity on the thread wrapping and getting the guides to line up so I go to the local pro shop and buy the blanks with the guides installed minus the cork handle. I then search for exotic woods and come up with different patterns.

Some of the handles turn out pretty nice and some of them are laying in a box to be possibly used some day, maybe for heat... wink

Now, for the friends of friends and family members not in my circle who want one, I explain the cost of the premium blank and the exotic woods and don't even get to mention my time and I hear, (How Much Do You Need For That Rod!) crazy

Like I said earlier, it was fun. I know it's only a fishing rod used for catching fish but everyone I have given one to now has a favorite rod not only for it's looks but also for the action from the premium blank. cool

I come thru this thread a lot and have picked up some good tips from reading here. Some of you fellah's have inspired me to try doing what you do and I have found that I have a long ways to go but I'll keep on trying. I'll share 3 of my recent rod handles so you can see how I have been influenced by you.

The woods are Purple Heart, Maple and Black Ivory.

One more sanding and another coat of Spar Urethane and they will be ready for the reel to be attached with 2 face tape.

Thanks...