• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

lights under copper plumbing?

walleye-

I'm in the process finishing my basement and wiring it. I put a few can lights directly below some copper lines and now I am starting to wonder if that is a code violation? Any awnsers to this ? would be great. thx

I'm not worried about plumbing codes I was wondering about electrical code. Yes they fit fine I boxed in the duct work and the pluming ran next to the duct on the joists so I just boxed them into it also. So I have 10" from ceiling to plumbing lines.

As a plumber I know very little electrical code but I run copper by can lights all the time the only time I can think of I run into problems is when you run over pannels breaker boxes or by disconnects I would not worry about a light.

thanks for the replys I will leave them there and let the inspector have the final say. I just thought that it might not be a good idea just incase of a leak. I don't have any under the fittings so I should be fine. I would hate to have to call the inspector out twice due to a stupid mistake that I wasn't sure of.

While on the subject of electrical, I have a question for those of you are intimately familiar with the current code. I have fallen out of touch since its been a while since I did any significant electrical work.

I have heard that there is a new device allowed for splicing wires that does not require a j-box. Is that true, or was the guy that told me this full of it? Any refernce to the code dealing with this would be great.

Thanks!

(Walleye - sorry to hijack your post, but is seems that the right folks were watching this, so I figured I would ask)