• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Early season

I'm curious to know some early season tactics to increase my odds of boating a fish. Are these fish going to be suspended over deeper water chasing tullies, cruising shallows..?? What types of baits should I use? During this time of year, what kinds of structures should I key in on? I'm a newbie, any information at all would be greatly appreciated! Good luck to you guys and I look forward to any information provided, thanks.

The only way you are going to find out is by going out there and trying it all. I'm sorry I can't be of more help, but it is the honest to god truth. Every year is different. This year it has been very cold compared to the average year. Try shallow first and if you are not seeing anything, try deep. Change lures constantly and see if you can find a pattern. Cold water usually means slow presentation. Good luck!

A couple of good early season tactics are to try near or adjacent to their spawning areas, and to try the open water.

There will be some fish hanging near the shallow mucky bays where they spawn. Look for warmer water, and good early weed growth. I like to use smaller bucktails and spinnerbaits for this. Sometimes they're even in the really thick slop, and you can roust one out by using jigs or soft plastics fluttered down in the weed pockets.

Other fish will be in transition, and sometimes you can find them out in the open water. Smaller crankbaits are fine...8" jake for instance, but don't be afraid to try some bigger stuff as well.

Good Luck,