• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Stupid question about solo canoes...

So I've been considering the purchase of a solo canoe....and I've been looking at the Discovery, the Pack, and the Stillwater from Old Town. I think I'll go with the Discovery (should I get the Stillwater 12 instead????) because 1) I'm young and the extra pounds won't bug me too much, 2) I'm used to hauling aluminum monster canoes around the BWCA, and 3) I'm poor.

I've been paddling for probably 10 years, and I've never actually seen a solo canoe on the water. I was looking at the canoes (the Pack and the Discovery) and I got to thinking...where is the portage yolk??? And where would you put one...it would be right where you sit?

Please (kindly) disabuse me of my ignorance....

Almost all solo canoes have a detachable carrying yoke of one sort or another. Mine has safety pin type attachments, takes only seconds to put on or take off the canoe.

My first canoe was a Discovery 176, it was always a beast to haul around, even more so as I got older, but I got 20 yrs of great use out of the thing. I've since moved on to a lighter and more expensive canoe. Get something within your budget, you can always upgrade somewhere down the creek. full-552-9673-img_0231.jpg

I had some friends that used to spend a great deal of time in the BW with solo's. They would use kneeling pads and kayak paddles. The hauling advantages of a canoe and some of the speed and agility of a kayak. If you are young I would not worry to much about the wieght. After 20 years of hauling monsters around the BW I finally borke down and went light weight. I can't give specific model advice but it sounds like you are one the right track.

I do need the canoe for the storage...we take monthly trips and need to be able to haul food, gear, etc. The kayak makes that more difficult.