• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Need Help 70-200L or 100-400L QUESTION Added :)

Ok Canon Guru's, I need your help. I am trying to decide which way makes more sense for me. I am only able to buy one so I am trying to decide if buying the 70-200 2.8 makes more sense or the 100-400 would be better suited for my needs.

I have been posting here for a couple of years now so most of you have seen what I like to shoot. Scenery, landscape, pets (got that covered with my 17-80) But when I am looking for that zoom shot it seems as if I never have enough lenght. I own a peice of Junk sigma 100-300 that has horrible glass in it and made of plastic.

As for my habits, I do not shoot sports ( usually), I shoot in either ok or super poor lighting conditions (which is why that 2.8 is attractive) But I have heard from people when you add a teleconverter you for the added distance you lose some f-stops and focus speed. I guess personally I am leaning towards a 100-400 IS USM L since the prices are dropping on them and are found for under $1200 now from various online dealers.

My question for those of you who have more experience with those long bazooka lenses Is the 100-400 right for me or should I be conservative and go 70-200? (currently about $1500)

Hi Paul,