• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Zercom Colorpoint Flasher ???

I'm new to ice fishing and just bought a Zercom colorpoint flasher for 200 dollars. It was a display model. Was this a good deal and a good flasher?? Thanks for any information...

Well, as far as I know, they do not make them anymore. We had one and it was a piece of dump. It never worked right even when we first got it. When you turned it on it took forever to get a accurate reading of the depth. Last season, after numerous trips to get it fixed, it finally died. My friend and I are going to get a vexilar this year to replace the zercom.

That is alot of money for that thing. They are worth about a $100. You can find Vexilar FL 8 that worth $200 but colorpoints aren't. So in my opinion you paid to much for that unit.

------------------
Grip it and Rip it

IFFWalleyes
I Fish For Walleyes

shanna - Having a flasher is better than having none at all. If it makes you feel better I got $280 for my Colorpoint 2 years ago one hsolist... However for that $200 you spent I agree that you could have found an FL-8 used which are pretty much bullet proof. I owned two of the Colorpoint Flashers and an FL-8SLT, sporadic interference issues with reguards to the Colorpoint. No matter what I did other unit's would scramble it pretty easy but other than that it worked fine. Now that you have a Colorpoint and you use it get comfortable with it for a couple years and down the road you find yourself wanting an upgrade. The MarCum LX-1 w/o zoom would be an inexpensive option at $279 or you can really step-up and get an LX-3 with zoom for $399.

Ouch to your pocket book for a piece of equipment that is out of date!

I sold my vex Fl-8 last year for about 50 more ($250 total) and I tell you what, that is a better buy than that color point.