• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Youth ATVing

mapache

I am a newbie here but after reading a few posts it seems this is a group that can help me. We have a cabin near Hackensack, MN and I am interested in ATVing and getting my kids involved in same. However after reading the MN regulations 4 times, a lot of things still are not clear to me. I would like to be able to trailer to nearby state/federal land and trail ride with my kids. Specifically looking at Martineau area near Akeley, and Chippewa National Forest, off of the wood tick trail. My kids are ages 12 and 9 this summer. ATV dealer tells me 12 and under is 90cc max and 10 and under 50cc max, but MN regs say over 12 with an adult and training permit is ok. Also not clear whether the "under 12's" permited on state trails on atv but looks like they might be on legal on motorcycle. Bottom line is would very much appreciate any suggestions on the basics of what is and is not permitted within the rules and also any suggestions on fit/beginner basics for the kids. They are athletic and conservative, but certainly don't want to overpower them out of the blocks for safety reasons, and also don't want to end up with machines they outgrow in 6 months. Appreciate your insights.

What the dealer told you is correct based on the manufacturer requirements. THEY CANNOT AND WILL NOT sell you a full size ATV if they know your kids will be riding it.

However, the MN DNR does allow for kids age 10-11 to ride a machine on public lands and frozen waters without safety training that is 90 cc or less.