• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Help with the Crappies

Mike Stark

so im new to the ice fishing game. i live up in the ely area. i looking for a little help getting some crappies. lakes?...lures?...live bait or plastics? any info would be great...or just direct me to the right place to find the info. by the way..i dont have a flasher \:\(

thanks so much!

mike

Hi. The Eagles Nest chain used to give up nice crappies. I've always found them relating to the edges of the cabbage. I haven't fished the lakes lately and I know the rusty crayfish have wreaked havoc on the cabbage. What I would do is wait till spring and explore the area a little trying spots along the new growth of weeds. As always the murky dark bottomed bays should produce in spring. Good Luck, ole

Having a flasher is a definite help,especially for suspended fish.Without one, I would fish just outside of a weedine,and focus on points and inside turns of that weedline.Fishing water of moderate depth,like just outside of a weedline, will be easier than fishing in deep water without a flasher.Jigging plastics on a variety of jigs will work.You can also use live bait,minnows or grubs-waxies,eurolarvae,etc.It depends on the lake your on,and what the local fish population prefer.Keep reading in this forum.There are many good posts here at the panfishing forum from moderators,prostaffers, and hardcore panfisherfolk, that can help get you on your way to catching crappies