• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Motor Question-75 Honda 4-stroke.

cliffy

I noticed that past couple of seasons that my Honda 75hp 4-stroke was having difficulty starting..and idled rough...and when I tried to give it throttle, it would choke out and die. However, once I got running...warmed up...it ran just fine. I have always taken pretty good care of it...change the fluids and proper winterization/storage. I am assuming the carb is either out of whack or gunked up and needs cleaning. I changed the plugs three seasons ago...and changed the fuel filter last season. These things didnt seem to help. I dont put many hours per season on the motor...so I dont think it could be the plugs. How often do people change plugs on a 4-stroke?

Any other thoughts of what the problem might be? I am by no means a mechanic, so I brought it to an authorized Honda dealer...for service....they looked a little busy so I don’t think I will get it back anytime soon...so I am just passing my time by asking these questions. Any thoughts?

FWIW, my Honda bike was having similar symptoms. I hadn't been riding it much, and basically the carbs just got gunked up. I brought it to mech who cleaned them up, and my 12 year bike is now just like new again!

I bet you need a simple carb cleaning (but by mechanic, not bottle of stuff). Good luck!

BTW - the mech said the worst thing you can do to a bike (or motor, actually) is to NOT use it enough. That is what gunks the carbs up. Turns the fuel into varnish, or laquer or whatever it woudl be called. Gives me an excuse to use the bike more smile.gif